Nota: Este contenido tiene una versión original en español

The Spaniards, led by Hernán Cortés arrived in the territory of New Spain in 1519 and began to establish some of the colonial cities that today are part of Mexico.

The Spanish sought that these settlements had a good location in relation to the sea, mountains or rivers, to be fruitful in their development.

Below we present the first 4 cities that were founded as cities in the territory of Puebla by the Spaniards, although there were already other settlements that were later recognized as municipalities.


Located 35 kilometers from the capital of Puebla, Tepeaca is a city known for the sale of seafood, its old market and for being the place where the Santo Niño Jesús Doctor of the Sick is venerated.

It was founded as a city by Hernán Cortés under the name of "Villa de Segura de la Frontera" on September 4, 1520, becoming the second Spanish city founded in national territory after Veracruz.

The choice of Tepeaca as the site to establish the first town hall in New Spain was due to its strategic location between Tenochtitlán and Veracruz, in addition to being located near Tlaxcala, where its allies were settled.

According to the 2020 census of INEGI, Tepeaca has 84,270 inhabitants.

Santuario del Niño Doctor de Tepeaca
Photo: Rodrigo Peña / Agencia Express Media


This city was initially founded by Olmec-Xilacas and Toltec-Chichimec ethnic groups, who established a "lordship" on the slopes of the Iztaccihuatl volcano.

Despite the presence of Spaniards in the municipality since 1520, it was not until 1524 when it received the denomination of city when the construction of the convent of San Miguel Arcángel was ordered, which was completed until 1570.

Huejotzingo is located less than 27 kilometers from Puebla capital and has a population of 90,000 inhabitants. The main economic activity of the municipality is currently the operation of the Puebla International Airport and the holding of the carnival.

Convento Franciscano de Huetzingo
Convento Franciscano de Huejotzingo / Photo: Agencia Enfoque


The capital of the state has just celebrated its 490th anniversary of being founded by Fray Julián Garcés in "a beautiful valley where three rivers crossed with trees and mountains from which the angels of heaven descended and stretched their threads of gold and silver and traced a city".

The foundation of the city was approved by Queen Isabel of Portugal, Queen Governor of Spain, who ordered by means of a Royal Decree issued on January 18, 1531 to establish this settlement in which a community of Spaniards would live.

Finally, it was on April 16, 1531 when Puebla was officially decreed as the city of New Spain, which is evidenced in the Monument of the Founders.

The capital has grown so much that urban development is already mixed with the conurbation municipalities, and according to the INEGI census, in 2020 there were 1.6 million people living in the city.

Photo: Agencia Enfoque

San Pedro Cholula

Cholula was the first human settlement in America, as different pre-Hispanic cultures such as Olmecs and Cholultecs inhabited the area since the sixth century BC.

Prince Philip II of Spain and Emperor Charles V granted the title of city to Cholula on October 27, 1535 through a royal decree, by this date, the convent of San Gabriel, located next to the zocalo, was already built.

This date should not be considered as the valid date for San Andrés Cholula, since it was until September 14, 1861 that it was officially considered a municipality.

Aerial view of San Pedro Cholula
Photo: Juan Carlos Sánchez / Agencia Express Media

Translation done by: Karla Giselle Bonales Ramírez